Gratitude

Happy December, readers.

photo 5I have this little notebook that I have been carrying around with me for almost a year. On the cover of my cherry red, pocket-sized carrier it reads, She makes the day brighter. She leaves a little sparkle wherever she goes. I remember seeing it at the store, purchasing two of them and shipping one off to my best friend in Alabama. Since then I have filled the pages with a multitude of words. Quotes I want to remember, gratitude statements and bucket lists of things I want to remind myself to do.

Our Thanksgiving was a big giant cup overflowing with blessings. John and I spent time in Birmingham with the people that we talk to often but rarely get to see, our families. Everywhere I turned was full of rich conversation. The week following our trip was spent discussing how much we appreciate them and how perfect our time home was soaking up their company. It made me want to begin jotting down things that I am grateful for, big and small.

photo 3

Lunching in Birmingham at Bottega Cafe.

photo 4

Courtney and her daughter, Alice Wells. I had so much fun seeing them!

P1010154

P1010156

Thanksgiving in Birmingham at the Gleysteens

This time of the year always stresses me out… what gifts should I be buying, how perfectly can I decorate our home, what in the world am I going to wear to that Christmas Party…? So this morning I stopped and pulled out my red notebook and  thumbed through the pages. I quickly realized that most of my notes were already about viewing life differently; being grateful for what I have instead of making growing lists of things I want.

Here are a few that stood out the most:

Let us, then, be up and doing,photo
with a heart for any fate;
still achieving, still pursuing,
Learn to labor and to wait.
-A Psalm of Life

What an amazing gift we are given: the space to exist. The space to just be. As we are, as we are not. And who are we to not share that gift -our space- with others? Isn’t that the most truly generous, vulnerable act we are capable of committing? Sharing openly, authentically with the people in our lives.

This year I am thankful for so many things: a loving family and husband to be, a warm place to come home to, a steady job, friendships that are deep and spread throughout the country, being healthy and injury-free. I have so much to be grateful for and I hope that spreading gratitude becomes an everyday thing for me instead of just around the holidays.

We are hosting my supper club for an Italian Christmas Dinner tomorrow night… I am also thankful for party dish rentals and good wine!

Happy Thanksgiving. Merry Christmas. And Thank you, for whatever roll you play in our lives.
Our cup truly is running over,

Signature

Leave a Reply

